RSS

Learning Curve

01 Jul

I’ve been reflecting today on how much more difficult the whole cake making process seems to be recently.

I’d love to hear from other cake makers about the things that don’t go so well. The cakes that don’t rise – or rise too much and overflow; the icing that melts in the heat, the decorations that refuse to dry out. The designs that just don’t work, the things you drop on the floor and have to start all over again…

We love to post our finished works of art online but am I the only one who has a few rejects to show for a days baking? Eating into our slim margins and even bringing me close to tears at times.

This seems to be a new thing so I asked myself why and the answer is really quite simple. I’m now attempting cakes that are several times more difficult than anything I was doing six months ago. As with anything there is a learning curve that rises steeply then plateaus as you get to grips with the new skills and attempt bigger challenges.

I”m pleased with today’s cakes – 15 cupcakes for a 15th birthday and a box to be donated to a school summer fayre (along with a box of baby cakes – couldn’t resist the opportunity to show them off on the raffle table…)

But I sincerely hope that next time I attempt something similar it takes a whole lot less time than it today – and yesterday!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment